Nugget From Animals Talking In Caps*

Standard

I’M OKAY. I WAS JUST THINKING OF THAT EMERSON POEM.

PLEASANT FANCIES OVERTOOK ME:

I SAID, “WHAT INFLUENCE ME PREFERRED

ELECT TO DREAMS THUS BEAUTIFUL?”

THE VINES REPLIED, “AND DIDST THOU DEEM

NO WISDOM TO OUR BERRIES WENT?”

… I’M KIDDING. I HAVE TO PEE. JUST KEEP WALKING. I’LL CATCH UP WITH YOU.

The whole poem under the cut.

Berrying

by Ralph Waldo Emerson

“May be true what I had heard,
Earth’s a howling wilderness
Truculent with fraud and force,”
Said I, strolling through the pastures,
And along the riverside.
Caught among the blackberry vines,
Feeding on the Ethiops sweet,
Pleasant fancies overtook me:
I said, “What influence me preferred
Elect to dreams thus beautiful?”
The vines replied, “And didst thou deem
No wisdom to our berries went?”

*Who delight me to no end. I even added them into the blogroll so you can go look too =D

Leave a Reply

